Clean Heat Standard Technical Advisory Group

February 2, 2024, Meeting Minutes

Attendees

- Members of the Technical Advisory Group present
 - o TJ Poor (designee of Melissa Bailey), Vermont Department of Public Service
 - o Jared Ulmer, Vermont Department of Health
 - o Brian Woods, Vermont Agency of Natural Resources
 - o Matt Cota, Meadow Hill Consulting
 - o Luce Hillman, University of Vermont
 - o Ken Jones, Individual
 - o Michelle Keller, Fraktalas Energy
 - o Casey Lamont, Burlington Electric Department
 - o Sam Lehr, Coalition for Renewable Natural Gas
 - o Emily Levin, Northeast States Coordinated Air Use Management
 - o Emily Roscoe, Efficiency Vermont
 - o Floyd Vergara, Clean Fuels Alliance America
 - o Rick Weston, Individual
- Participating Vermont Public Utility Commission staff
 - o Erin Hicks-Tibbles
 - o Tom Knauer
 - Deirdre Morris
 - o Dominic Gatti
- Participating members of the public
 - Nick Persampieri
 - o Pike Porter
 - o Annette Smith
 - John Brabant

Agenda & Actions

- I. Intro and welcome (Acting Chair)
 - a. We won't have everyone introduce themselves We'll make sure there's quorum, note whether there are members of the public in attendance, and jump right in.
 - b. Take action on whether to record TAG meetings

[The group decided to record and publicly post the recording of their meetings by unanimous consent at 10:06 am.]

- II. Review of the agenda (Acting Chair)
 - a. Additions, changes
- III. Review and approval of the minutes of the previous two meetings (Acting Chair)

[TJ Poor moved to approve the December 11, 2023, Minutes. The motion was adopted by voice vote at 10:20 am.]

[Ken Jones moved to approve the December 11, 2023, Minutes as corrected. The motion was adopted by voice vote at 10:26 am.]

- IV. Discuss election of TAG Chair and take action as appropriate (Acting Chair)
 - a. Is there a candidate? What action should we take?

[Brian Woods nominated Rick Weston for Chair and was seconded by Emily Levin. Rick Weston was elected Chair by voice vote at 10:34 am.]

[Brian Woods nominated Emily Levin for Vice Chair and was seconded by Luce Hillman. Emily Levin was elected Vice Chair by voice vote at 10:36 am.]

- V. Updates from the PUC. (PUC Staff and Acting Chair)
 - a. Status of PUC procedural schedule

[Brian Woods moved to assign Ken Jones, with the assistance of the Department of Public Service, to develop a timeline for the establishment of DDA credit costs for consideration by the Technical Advisory Group at its next meeting. The motion was discussed and adopted by voice vote at 11:01 am.]

b. PUC/ANR update on potential group facilitation

[Brian Woods moved that the Technical Advisory Group direct the Commission and the Agency of Natural Resources to continue discussions with the US Climate Alliance to engage a facilitator for the group. After discussion and amendment, the group specified their interest in the Consensus Building Institute as the facilitator. The motion was adopted by voice vote at 11:31 am.]

- c. Introduction of the technical consultant and their scope of work
 - i. 1. You can find the SOW at https://puc.vermont.gov/document/clean-heat-standard-technical-consultant-rfp
- d. Sequencing of TAG tasks
 - i. Relating the TAG's work to the legislation's requirements
 - ii. Consideration of subgroups to focus on particular tasks
 - 1. Applicability of open meeting rules?

[The group decided to recess for 5 minutes by unanimous consent at 11:33 am. The group reconvened at 11:39 am.]

- VI. Emissions accounting (Ken Jones)
 - a. Clarify TAG's role and the timeline for TAG deliverables
 - b. Description of the issue/challenge
 - c. Discuss approaches for addressing the issue
 - d. Public comment (2 minutes per person, if possible)
 - e. Next steps (e.g., continue the discussion at the next meeting, identify further areas of inquiry, reach a consensus and communicate it to the PUC, etc.)
- VII. Credit ownership (PUC staff)
 - a. Clarify the TAG's role and timeline for TAG deliverables

- b. Summary of recommendations submitted by participants in the rulemaking
- c. Identify key issues
- d. Discuss approaches
- e. Public comment
- f. Next steps

[The group decided to move agenda item VIII and further consider item VII at its next meeting by unanimous consent at 12:58 pm.]

- VIII. Other subject matters (Acting Chair)
 - a. Emissions scheduling
 - b. Carbon intensity
 - IX. Scheduling of TAG meetings (Acting Chair)
 - a. Day, time, frequency

[Ken Jones moved to schedule the next Technical Advisory Group meeting on February 16, 2024, from 10 am to 1 pm Eastern time and set a standard meeting time for the group every other Thursday from 9:30 am to 12:30 pm Eastern time, starting on March 7, 2024. The motion was adopted by voice vote at 1:06 pm.]

- X. Closing (Acting Chair)
 - a. Other matters

[The adjourned by unanimous consent at 1:07 pm.]

Meeting Recording

A recording of the meeting can be found here (https://youtu.be/Mlg3JiMXQ30).