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2.600 COVID-19 EMERGENCY DISCONNECTION RULE 

 

2.601 Purpose, Scope, and Period of Applicability 

Due to the outbreak of the novel coronavirus, COVID-19, the Governor of Vermont 

declared a state of emergency.  The state of emergency and the consequences of the pandemic 

persist.  In response to the pandemic, the Commission ordered a moratorium on various utility 

disconnections.  On October 16, 2020, the moratorium on gas, electric, and basic telephone 

disconnections will be lifted in order to encourage greater participation in the Vermont COVID-

19 Arrearage Assistance Program that distributes federal funds.  This emergency rule amends 

various procedural requirements to reduce or eliminate in-person contact between members of 

the public and utility staff to reduce the risk of exposure to the COVID-19 virus.  This rule also 

provides enhanced consumer protections to customers who may be experiencing financial 

hardship due to COVID-19.  This rule shall take effect on the date of its filing, and shall remain 

in effect for six months, or until the Commission withdraws it.   

 

2.602 Amendments to Commission Rule 3.300 Relating to Disconnection of Residential 

Gas, Electric, and Water Service 

All cross references in this rule refer to the language of the rule as modified by the 

emergency rule, if so modified. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.301(D) as follows.  Physician’s Certificate: 

a written statement by a duly licensed physician certifying that a ratepayer or resident within the 

ratepayer’s household would suffer an immediate and serious health hazard by the disconnection 

of the company’s service, or by failure to reconnect service, to that household.  The certificate 

will be valid for 30 days, or the duration of the hazard, whichever is less, and may be renewed 

once.  Use of a physician’s certificate by a customer to prevent disconnection or to cause a 

reconnection is limited to four consecutive 30-day periods and shall not exceed six 30-day 

periods in any calendar year, except upon written order of the Commission. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.302(B) as follows.  Exceptions.  During a 

state of emergency, disconnection shall not be permitted if prohibited by law or Commission 

order.  The following exceptions shall not apply to payment(s) of deposits, but shall apply to the 

general rule of this section.  Disconnection shall not be permitted if: 

(1) the company bills at least as frequently as once every two months, and the delinquent bill 

or charge, or aggregate delinquent bills and charges, does not exceed $50.00, provided 

that this exception may not be used for more than two billing cycles in one calendar 

year; 

(2) the only charges or bills constituting the delinquency are more than two years old; 

(3) the delinquency is due solely to a disputed portion of a charge that has been referred to 

the Commission by the ratepayer or the company, and the Commission has advised the 

company not to disconnect service; 
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(4) the delinquency is due to a failure to pay a line extension, special construction charge, or 

other non-recurring charge, except that this exception shall not apply to reconnection 

charges or charges for personal visits to collect delinquent accounts; 

(5) the disconnection would represent an immediate and serious hazard to the health of the 

ratepayer or a resident within the ratepayer's household, as set forth in a physician’s 

certificate furnished to the company. (Notice by telephone or otherwise that such 

certificate will be forthcoming will have the effect of receipt, provided that the certificate 

is in fact received within seven days.);  

(6) the ratepayer has not been given an opportunity to enter into (a) a reasonable repayment 

plan or, having entered into such a plan, has substantially abided by its terms in 

accordance with Section 3.305 (A); and (b) in the case of gas and electric utilities, a 

monthly installment plan for the payment of future bills; or 

(7) the ratepayer has submitted a complete Vermont COVID-19 Arrearage Assistance 

Program (“VCAAP”) application to the Vermont Department of Public Service and the 

ratepayer is awaiting a determination or has been approved and the funds have not been 

distributed. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.302(C) as follows.  If a ratepayer requests 

that service be disconnected, the electric, gas, or water company must ask whether a tenant 

resides in the dwelling.  An electric, water, or gas company may not disconnect a dwelling at the 

request of a lessor, owner, or agent (“landlord”) or because the landlord (as a customer) has 

failed to pay an overdue amount, if it has reason to believe the dwelling is rented and unless the 

utility gives notice as described below. 

A company must make every reasonable attempt with respect to each potentially affected 

dwelling unit to deliver a notice ten days prior to the scheduled disconnection to at least one 

adult occupant of that dwelling unit or mail a notice to the tenant of that dwelling unit.  In 

buildings where service to two or more units is to be disconnected because of a landlord’s 

request or non-payment, the utility must also post the notice in a secure and obvious place in the 

affected building or buildings.  The notice must, in addition to the applicable disclosures of 

Section 3.303, inform the tenant how service can be continued and must provide the website for 

the Vermont Community Action Agencies (https://dcf.vermont.gov/partners/caps) and the 

website (https://vtlawhelp.org/how-we-can-help), telephone number (1-800-889-2047), and 

business hours of Vermont Legal Aid (8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday except 

holidays), and a statement that Legal Aid can provide information on housing, rental assistance, 

and the COVID-19 pandemic.  Notwithstanding the provisions of Section 3.301(C), a 

disconnection notice containing a newly established disconnection date shall be provided to the 

tenant at least ten days prior to the newly established disconnection date. If the disconnection is 

due to the failure of the landlord to pay an overdue amount, the landlord shall be responsible for 

usage during the additional ten-day notice period. 

A utility must offer the tenant the opportunity either to obtain service in the tenant’s 

name or to otherwise assume responsibility for further payment.  If the building has a single 

master meter for the whole building, the utility must make arrangements where possible to 

https://dcf.vermont.gov/partners/caps
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provide individual meters to separate dwelling units.  Where the wiring and metering 

arrangements allow, the utility must provide service upon request of the tenant. The utility may 

not require the tenant to pay any of the bill owed to the utility by the landlord. 

If the utility disconnects a household because it is not aware that the household is 

occupied by a tenant, and the landlord is responsible for payment of the utility bill, the utility 

must reinstate service upon notification from the tenant.  Under such circumstances, the utility 

shall not require advance payment of any deposit, and the customer shall have the option of 

paying the deposit, if required, in three equal payments, with one half due in 30 days and one 

half due in 60 days. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.302(G) as follows.  When establishing a 

reasonable repayment plan, the company shall consider the income and income schedule of the 

customer, if offered by the customer, the customer’s payment history, the size of the arrearage 

and current bill, the amount of time and reason for the outstanding bill, and whether the 

delinquency was caused by unforeseen circumstances.  A reasonable repayment plan shall, at a 

minimum, provide the customer with 12 months to complete repayment of a delinquent balance 

unless the customer requests a shorter timeframe. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.303 as follows.  Disconnection Notice 

Form.  The notice form required under Section 3.302 and defined in Section 3.301 shall contain 

the following information: 

(A) a statement that the ratepayer’s account is delinquent, a statement of the amount of the 

delinquency, and a statement that service will be disconnected unless:  

(1) the delinquency is paid in full by a certain date; or 

(2) the ratepayer enters into a reasonable agreement with the utility to pay the 

delinquency by means of a repayment plan; or 

(3) the ratepayer denies the existence of any delinquency in excess of $50.00, submits 

the dispute to the Commission, and the Commission advises the utility not to 

disconnect service; or 

(4) the ratepayer presents to the utility (or gives actual notice that he or she will, 

within seven days, present to the utility) a statement from a duly licensed 

physician certifying that disconnection will result in an immediate and serious 

health hazard to the ratepayer or to a resident within the ratepayer’s household, 

provided that use of a physician’s certificate to prevent disconnection or to cause 

a reconnection is limited to four consecutive 30-day periods and shall not exceed 

six 30-day periods in any calendar year, except upon written order of the 

Commission; 

(B) the dates and times of day when the utility may disconnect service if the ratepayer does 

not take appropriate action as described above; 

(C) a statement that the utility will negotiate a reasonable agreement for payment of the 

delinquency by means of a repayment plan and that if, after entering such negotiations, 

the ratepayer does not believe the utility’s terms to be reasonable, the ratepayer may 
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request the assistance of the Consumer Affairs Division of the Department of Public 

Service in conducting further negotiations; 

(D) the name(s) or title(s), address(es), telephone number(s), and business hours of the 

company representatives with whom the ratepayer may make any inquiry or complaint, 

and a statement that telephone calls made from within Vermont for such purposes may 

be made collect or toll free; 

(E) the address, telephone numbers (including the toll-free number), and business hours of 

the Consumer Affairs Division of the Department of Public Service, and a statement 

that, in addition to providing assistance or advice as to negotiations with utilities, the 

Division can provide information as to how to submit to the Commission a dispute over 

the existence of a delinquency; 

(F) while the VCAAP is accepting applications, the website and phone number for the 

VCAAP as well as a notice that ratepayers who have submitted a complete application 

and are awaiting a determination or have been approved and the funds have not been 

disbursed are exempt from disconnection; 

(G) the itemized cost that may be charged to the ratepayer for disconnection, collection, and 

later restoration of service and, if a deposit may be required for restoration of service, an 

explanation of how the amount will be calculated; 

(H) in the case of gas and electric utilities, if disconnection is to occur between November 1 

and March 31 (inclusive), a list as annually compiled and distributed by the Department 

of Public Service of the names, addresses and telephone numbers of governmental and 

private agencies that may provide assistance to ratepayers in paying their utility bills; 

(I) in the case of gas and electric utilities, an offer to arrange a monthly installment plan for 

the payment of future bills, provided that such offer need not be made if the account is 

for service at premises not used as a principal residence; 

(J) in the case of gas and electric utilities, a statement that service to households with any 

member aged 62 or older shall not be disconnected between November 1 and March 31 

if outdoor temperatures are forecast to fall below 32 degrees Fahrenheit during a 48-

hour period beginning at the anticipated time of disconnection, provided that the 

account holder furnishes advance written notice to the utility that the household 

qualifies under this paragraph and, if requested by the utility, furnishes reasonable proof 

of such qualification; and 

(K) any other information not inconsistent with the above that has received prior approval of 

the Commission. 

 

The Commission waives the requirement of “a personal visit to the premises at which 

service is provided” contained in Commission Rule 3.304(A) and referenced in its subdivisions. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.305 as follows.   

(A) When a utility proposes to disconnect service because of a ratepayer’s failure to abide 

by the terms of a repayment plan, it shall deliver or mail to the address at which service 

is to be disconnected (with a copy mailed to the ratepayer’s billing address, if different) 
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a notice containing the information required by Sections 3.303, except (A)(2), (C), (I).  

In lieu of giving written notice, the utility may give notice orally, by telephone, but the 

content of the oral notice shall contain all information required in written notice.  The 

timing of disconnection must follow the minimum requirements of Section 3.301(C).  

Substantial compliance with a repayment plan established under Section 3.307(B) or 

Section 3.302(B)(6) shall be demonstrated if the customer has paid at least 50 percent of 

each agreed-upon payment as due. 

(B) [Redacted.] 

(C) Disconnection resulting from failure to meet the terms of a repayment plan shall occur 

only after the utility has issued notice in accordance with Section 3.305(A). 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.306 as follows.  Disconnection of utility 

service shall occur only between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 2:00 P.M. of the business day, 

specified on the notice of disconnection, or within four business days thereafter between April 1 

and October 31 (inclusive), and within eight days thereafter between November 1 and March 31 

(inclusive); except that if a company has available personnel authorized to reconnect service and 

enter into arrangements on behalf of the utility until 8:00 P.M. of a normal business day, the 

utility may disconnect service between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M.  When service is 

disconnected at the premises of the ratepayer, which shall include disconnection at a pole at or 

near the premises of the ratepayer, the individual making the disconnection shall make 

reasonable attempts to inform the ratepayer or a responsible adult at the premises immediately, 

via telephone, that service has been disconnected and shall leave on the premises in a 

conspicuous and secure place a notification advising that service has been disconnected and what 

the ratepayer has to do to have service restored.   

Reasonable attempts at telephone notice under this subsection means two phone calls 

made at least three hours apart to a telephone number provided by the ratepayer for this purpose 

or, if no such number has been provided, to the ratepayer’s number as it appears in the telephone 

directory or as obtained from directory assistance.  A telephone call to a telephone not removed 

from service that results in a busy signal or in any other condition preventing communication, or 

an unanswered call that has not been allowed to ring for at least 60 seconds, shall not count 

toward satisfaction of the requirement of this subsection.  The unavailability of a ratepayer’s 

telephone number shall excuse compliance with the requirement to attempt notification by 

telephone. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.307(B) as follows.  The company shall 

restore service if the disconnected customer pays one half of the delinquent bill, or a lesser 

negotiated amount, before restoration and enters into a repayment plan to pay the balance over a 

minimum period of 12 months, except that the utility is not obliged to enter into more than two 

plans of this type with a particular customer within a calendar year.  The company shall restore 

service if a customer submits a complete VCAAP application to the Vermont Department of 

Public Service. 
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The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.308(A) as follows.  Within seven days 

after the effective date of this rule and prior to issuing any disconnection notice, all electric and 

gas utility companies subject to its provisions shall submit to the Commission for its review and 

approval a copy of the disconnection notice form described in Section 3.303.  Within seven days 

after the expiration of the state of emergency triggering the prohibition on disconnection in 

H.681 of 2020 and prior to issuing any disconnection notice, all water utility companies subject 

to the Commission’s jurisdiction shall submit to the Commission for its review and approval a 

copy of the disconnection notice form described in Section 3.303. 

   

2.603 Amendments to Commission Rule 3.400 Relating to Disconnection of Cable 

Television Service and Non-Residential Electric, Gas, and Water Service 

All cross references in this rule refer to the language of the rule as modified by the 

emergency rule, if so modified. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.401(C) as follows.  Notice:  

(A) If electric, gas, or water service, except where otherwise provided or where the context 

otherwise requires, notice shall mean written notice on a form approved by the 

Commission, mailed or delivered within 40 days after delinquency, but not more than 20 

days or less than 14 days prior to the disconnection of service. Where payment has been 

made by a check or other instrument that is subsequently dishonored, then the number of 

days between delivery to the utility of the dishonored instrument and receipt by the utility 

of notice of dishonor may be deducted from the minimum number of days prior to 

disconnection that notice must be sent, but in no event may that minimum number of 

days be less than four. 

 

(B) If cable service, except where otherwise provided or where the context otherwise 

requires, notice shall mean written notice on a form approved by the Commission, mailed 

or delivered within 40 days after delinquency, but not more than 20 days or less than 14 

days (seven if the ratepayer has failed to abide by the terms of an extended repayment 

plan) prior to the disconnection of service. Where payment has been made by a check or 

other instrument that is subsequently dishonored, then the number of days between 

delivery to the utility of the dishonored instrument and receipt by the utility of notice of 

dishonor may be deducted from the minimum number of days prior to disconnection that 

notice must be sent, but in no event may that minimum number of days be less than four. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.402 as follows.  Except at the request of 

the ratepayer or upon order of the Commission, no utility shall disconnect cable television 

service or non-residential gas, electric, or water service unless payment of a valid bill or charge 

is delinquent as defined herein, and notice of disconnection has been provided previously to the 

ratepayer. 

(A) This rule shall not apply to any disconnection or interruption of services made necessary 

for reasons of health or of safety of the ratepayer or the general public. 
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(B) Disconnection shall not be permitted if the delinquency is due solely to a disputed portion 

of a charge that has been referred to the Commission by the ratepayer or the utility, and 

the Commission has advised the utility not to disconnect service. 

(C) Disconnection of electric, gas, or water service shall not be permitted if the ratepayer has 

submitted a complete VCAAP application to the Vermont Department of Public Service 

and the ratepayer is awaiting a determination or has been approved and the funds have 

not been distributed. 

(D) Disconnection of electric, gas, or water service shall not be permitted unless the ratepayer 

has been given an opportunity to enter into a reasonable repayment plan or, having 

entered into such a plan, has not substantially abided by its terms.  Any other utility may 

elect, at its option, to offer an extended repayment plan for delinquent bills. 

(1) Substantial compliance with a repayment plan shall be demonstrated if the 

customer has paid at least 50 percent of each agreed-upon payment as due.   

(2) When establishing a reasonable repayment plan, the company shall consider the 

income and income schedule of the customer, if offered by the customer, the 

customer’s payment history, the size of the arrearage and current bill, the amount 

of time and reason for the outstanding bill, and whether the delinquency was 

caused by unforeseen circumstances.  A reasonable repayment plan shall, at a 

minimum, provide the customer with 12 months to complete repayment of a 

delinquent balance unless the customer requests a shorter timeframe. 

(3) When a utility proposes to disconnect service because of a ratepayer’s failure to 

abide by the terms of a repayment plan, it shall deliver or mail to the address at 

which service is to be disconnected (with a copy mailed to the ratepayer’s billing 

address if different) a notice containing the information required by Sections 

3.403, except (A)(1)(c) and (F).  In lieu of giving written notice, the utility may 

give notice orally, by telephone, but the content of the oral notice shall contain all 

information required in written notice.  The timing of disconnection must follow 

the minimum requirements of Section 3.401(C).  Disconnection resulting from 

failure to meet the terms of a repayment plan shall occur only after the utility has 

issued notice in accordance with this subsection. 

(E) Any utility may elect, at its option, to offer a budget plan for future bills to ratepayers 

covered by this rule.  Any customer who applies for the plan and has a delinquent balance 

shall have the right to pay the delinquency in an extended repayment plan concurrent 

with the budget plan. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.403 as follows.  Disconnection Notice 

Form.  The notice form required under Section 3.402 and defined in Section 3.401 shall contain 

the following information: 

(A) a statement that the ratepayer’s account is delinquent, a statement of the amount of the 

delinquency, and a statement that service will be disconnected unless: 

(1) If electric, gas, or water service, (a) the delinquency is paid in full by a certain 

date; (b) the ratepayer submits any disputed portion of the charge to the 
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Commission and the Commission orders the utility not to disconnect service; or 

(c) the ratepayer enters into a reasonable agreement with the utility to pay the 

delinquency by means of a repayment plan; 

(2) If cable service, (a) the delinquency is paid in full by a certain date; (b) the 

ratepayer submits any disputed portion of the charge to the Commission and the 

Commission orders the utility not to disconnect service; or (c) if the utility offers 

an extended repayment plan for delinquent bills, the ratepayer enters into such a 

plan; 

(B) the dates and times of day when the utility may disconnect service if the ratepayer does 

not take appropriate action as described in Section 3.403(A) above; 

(C) the names or positions, addresses, telephone numbers, and business hours of the 

company representatives with whom the ratepayer may discuss the delinquency or to 

whom the ratepayer may make an inquiry or complaint; 

(D) the address, telephone numbers, including the toll-free number, and business hours of 

the Consumer Affairs Division of the Department of Public Service, and a statement 

that, in addition to providing assistance or advice as to negotiations with utilities, the 

Division can provide information as to how to submit to the Commission a dispute over 

the existence of a delinquency; 

(E) the itemized cost that may be charged to the ratepayer for disconnection, collection, and 

later restoration of service and, if a deposit may be required for restoration of service, an 

explanation of how the amount will be calculated; 

(F) in the case of electric, gas, and water utilities, a statement that the utility will negotiate a 

reasonable agreement for payment of the delinquency by means of a repayment plan and 

that if, after entering such negotiations, the ratepayer does not believe the utility’s terms 

to be reasonable, the ratepayer may request the assistance of the Consumer Affairs 

Division of the Department of Public Service in conducting further negotiations; 

(G) in the case of electric, gas, and water utilities, while the VCAAP is accepting 

applications, the website and phone number for the VCAAP as well as a notice that 

ratepayers who have submitted a complete application and are awaiting a determination 

or are approved and the funds have not been disbursed are exempt from disconnection; 

and 

(H) any other information not inconsistent with the above that has received prior approval of 

the Commission. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.404 as follows.  Disconnection of utility 

service shall occur only between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 2:00 P.M. of the business day, 

specified on the notice of disconnection, or within four business days; except that if a company 

has available personnel authorized to reconnect service and enter into arrangements on behalf of 

the utility until 8:00 P.M. of a normal business day, the utility may disconnect service between 

the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 5:00 P.M.   

When service is disconnected or interrupted at the premises of the ratepayer, which shall 

include disconnection or interruption at a pole at or near the premises of the ratepayer, the 
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individual making the disconnection shall make reasonable attempts to inform the ratepayer or a 

responsible adult at the premises immediately, via telephone, that service has been disconnected 

or interrupted and shall leave on the premises in a conspicuous and secure place a notification 

advising that service has been disconnected or interrupted and what the ratepayer has to do to 

have service restored. 

Reasonable attempts at telephone notice under this subsection means two phone calls 

made at least three hours apart to a telephone number provided by the ratepayer for this purpose 

or, if no such number has been provided, to the ratepayer’s number as it appears in the telephone 

directory or as obtained from directory assistance.  A telephone call to a telephone not removed 

from service that results in a busy signal or in any other condition preventing communication, or 

an unanswered call that has not been allowed to ring for at least 60 seconds, shall not count 

toward satisfaction of the requirement of this subsection.  The unavailability of a ratepayer’s 

telephone number shall excuse compliance with the requirement to attempt notification by 

telephone. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 3.406 as follows.  Within seven days after 

the effective date of this rule and prior to issuing any disconnection notice, all electric and gas 

utilities subject to its provisions shall submit to the Commission for its review and approval a 

copy of the disconnection notice form described in Section 3.403. Within seven days after the 

expiration of the state of emergency triggering the prohibition on disconnection in H.681 of 2020 

and prior to issuing any disconnection notice, all water utility companies subject to the 

Commission’s jurisdiction shall submit to the Commission for its review and approval a copy of 

the disconnection notice form described in Section 3.403. 

 

2.604 Amendments to Commission Rule 7.600 Relating to Telecommunications Carriers 

of Basic Residential Telephone Service 

All cross references in this rule refer to the language of the rule as modified by the 

emergency rule, if so modified. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 7.620(H) as follows.  Form of disconnection 

notice. A notice of involuntary disconnection shall be in writing and shall clearly and 

conspicuously contain the following information: 

(1) A statement that the customer’s account is delinquent and the amount of the 

delinquency. 

(2) A statement describing the service and stating that the carrier plans to disconnect 

the service on a stated date. 

(3) A statement that service will not be disconnected if the delinquency is paid in full 

by a stated date. 

(4) If the carrier’s service includes basic telephone service and the carrier offers basic 

service on a stand-alone basis, that customer may elect to retain basic service 

only, provided that the customer pays the basic service delinquency or enters into 

a payment arrangement.  
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(5) The toll-free phone number of an appropriate customer service representative of 

the carrier. 

(6) The itemized cost that may be charged to the ratepayer for disconnection, 

collection, and later restoration of service and, if a deposit may be required for 

restoration of service, an explanation of how the amount will be calculated. 

(7) Information regarding the Consumer Affairs Division of the Department of Public 

Service (“CAPI”) and dispute resolution, including: 

(a) A statement that CAPI can provide assistance or advice regarding disputes 

with utilities and the address, telephone numbers (including the toll-free 

number), and business hours of CAPI. 

(b) A statement that when CAPI has been unable to resolve a dispute it can 

provide information on how to submit the dispute for resolution by the 

Commission. 

(8) while the VCAAP is accepting applications, the website and phone number for 

the VCAAP as well as a notice that customers who have submitted a complete 

application and are awaiting a determination or are approved and funds have not 

been disbursed are exempt from disconnection. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 7.622(C) as follows.  Restrictions. 

Notwithstanding paragraph (B), a carrier may not involuntarily disconnect basic telephone 

service: 

(1) Based on a disputed delinquency that has been referred to the Commission by the 

customer or the company and where the Commission has advised the company not to 

disconnect service. 

(2) Due to a failure to pay for any other service, including but not limited to non-basic 

services, line extensions, special construction, or other non-recurring charges. However, 

this exception does not apply to reconnection charges or charges for personal visits to 

collect delinquent accounts or deposits. This paragraph does not prevent a carrier from 

disconnecting a bundled package of services that includes basic telephone service when 

charges for that bundle, considered as a whole, are delinquent. 

(3) When prohibited by Section 7.623 relating to medical emergencies. 

(4) Where the delinquent bill or charge, or aggregate delinquent bills or charges, for all 

services, including basic, non-basic, and other services provided by a carrier does not 

exceed $50.00, provided that this exception is not used more than two billing cycles in a 

12-month period. 

(5) Disconnection shall not be permitted if the customer has submitted a complete VCAAP 

application to the Vermont Department of Public Service and the ratepayer is awaiting a 

determination or has been approved and the funds have not been disbursed. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 7.622(E)(2) as follows.  Filing 

Requirements. Within seven days after the effective date of this rule and prior to issuing any 

disconnection notice, the carrier shall submit to the Commission for its review and approval a 
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copy of the disconnection notice form described in Section 7.620(H). The notice form shall be 

deemed approved unless the Commission states otherwise within 30 days following submission 

to the Commission and the Department. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 7.622(J) as follows.  Abbreviated 

Disconnection Notice. Where a customer has failed to abide by the terms of a payment plan, or 

paid by check or other instrument that it was subsequently dishonored, the carrier may 

disconnect service no sooner than 14 days following the delivery of a disconnection notice 

pursuant to this Section. 

 

The Commission amends Commission Rule 7.623(B)(2) as follows.  A customer may not 

avoid disconnection under this subsection more than six times or for more than four consecutive 

30-day periods in any 12-month period.  


